Ascot Complete!

Here is my review from Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:
Patterns for scarf, ascot, bow-tie, cummerbund, and pocket square.

Pattern Sizing:
One size. But that “one size” is too short to go around my neck, let alone my husband’s!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, though the tie silk I used appears to be a bit heavier than what is pictured on the pattern cover. That means the tie itself is a bit stiffer. Hubby likes it, and it looks crisp and nice on.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, this was a very simple project. It could easily be done in an afternoon. However, some steps depended on having some knowledge of technique. For example, there was nothing that told you to trim excess fabric off the corners before turning the ascot right side out.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This is a nice looking ascot, but it is quite wide, and the neckband is short (as shown in the photos above, with my very petite dress form showing how very small the neckband is). I anticipate that will be a problem and the ascot will get less use than it would otherwise.

For comparison, I also linked photos of the ascot I made with a store-bought (white) ascot and a gifted vintage ascot. The center backs are lined up. Both are longer and narrower.

It probably would not be difficult to lengthen the neckband by cutting through the center of the pattern and spreading it an inch or two.

Update
To fix this problem, I drew a pattern for an additional 6″ band. Then I cut the ascot through center back and inserted the band. Now the ascot is long enough to go around my husband’s neck, and it looks really good. My husband likes the width.

Fabric Used:
Tie silk.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None for this first version. If I make it again, I will have to add 6″ to the center.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Depending on my husband’s feedback, I may alter it and make it again. I will also look for another pattern with different dimensions.

Conclusion:
A decent ascot pattern, but not perfect right out of the envelope. The need to add 6″ to the center means that the package’s estimate of how much silk is necessary isn’t accurate, so I will have to piece together the next ascot because the length of silk I bought is too short.

Leave a Reply

