Challenge to Self: Ready to Cut

Simplicity 2541 – Ready to Cut

12:15

Hopefully, this challenge means I will work quickly, but not sloppily.

I just finished pressing my fabric (and noticed before it was too late that I had the right-side facing out!). I’ve pinned all the pieces, and I’m getting ready to cut. I haven’t followed the pattern’s cutting guide exactly, because this layout is more fabric-efficient. I did make sure, however, that all pieces are pointing the same direction as in the diagram, and that pieces that are shown face-down in the instructions are face-down in my layout as well.

I am hoping that I can still get a pair of shorts or capris out of this length of fabric afterwards.

Checking the grain.

How do you check to make sure that big pattern pieces are lined up correctly according to the fabric’s grain? It’s so easy to rotate the pattern ever so slightly. I try to double check by using a ruler to visually extend the grain line beyond the edge of the pattern piece.

 

5 thoughts on “Challenge to Self: Ready to Cut

  1. Jenna says:

    You coming right along! When I saw the pattern your sewing, I added it to my wishlist! šŸ™‚ I just eyeball my grain lines. So far that’s been enough, but everything I read says to measure with a ruler, like you’re doing šŸ™‚

    • Shari says:

      Thank you! I have all my pieces cut and marked now, but apparently I’ve spent too much time hunched over the table, ’cause now my back hurts a bit.

      I didn’t even remember that the ruler thing was how you were ‘supposed’ to make sure the grain lines matched up. I guess I had that little bit of information tucked up in my brain somewhere. šŸ™‚

  2. Sarah says:

    Ooh, that looks like a handy ruler! I’d love to know the brand šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

