Kwik Sew 3740 – Finally!

Kwik Sew 3740

 

Pattern Description: 
Close-fitting knit tops with a scoop neckline. View A has a cowl collar and full-length sleeves. View B is sleeveless with self-fabric bindings to finish the neckline and armholes. I made View A.

Pattern Sizing:
XS-S-M-L-XL. I made an S. Since I tend to have narrow shoulders, I considered doing an XS. However, the small is quite fitted and it’s probably good I didn’t go smaller. The shoulders are a smidgen wide on me, however.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, very much so, though I think the neckline looks lower on my shorter, less-busty frame than it looks on the model.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were super-easy to follow. This was my first ever knit top and I put it together on my serger and sewing machine in one afternoon with no mistakes.

I do think that, considering how elementary the pattern is and how likely it is that beginner sewists will make it that Kwik Sew could have explained how you pin together the shoulder and sleeve pieces. I can imagine other beginners being a bit thrown because the two pieces have concave and convex curves.

The drawing in the instructions shows the pieces laid side-by-side, which is quite clear about how the pieces fit together. But I believe that to match the sleeve and shoulder pieces with right sides together (so that you can serge the seam on the inside rather than the outside of the top), you actually have to lay the sleeve over the collar (with the wrist pointing towards the other shoulder.

One thing I did differently than the instructions was reinforcing the neckline. The pattern calls for you to put some fusible interfacing on the front shoulder pieces only. I was worried that my very-stretchy knit would get out of shape or droop with it’s own weight unless I gave it a bit more support. Therefore, I fused interfacing to both shoulders and around the neckline, front and back. There’s no way for me to know whether this will help prevent the neckline from drooping . . . but even as it is, the neckline is low enough that I would not welcome sagging.

A note: at one point in assembling this top, it becomes difficult to differentiate the upper collar and the lower collar, because you have both right-sides facing out when you attach the cowl to the neckline. If you put the wrong piece “facing up” then you will have a visible seam, so it’s important to get this right. I made sure to place a safety pin through the upper collar piece so that I could quickly confirm that I had the right side up when I pinned the cowl onto the top. I wonder if some of the other reviewers who report a visible seam on the finished top may have accidentally attached the cowl upside-down.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Likes:
– Quick, easy, fits me fairly well out of the package with no alterations. I’m willing to wear it in public.

Dislikes:
– None.

Kwik Sew 3740

Fabric Used:
I used an extremely light weight (synthetic) jersey knit. It is machine-washable, and I think it is rayon. It is so light and stretchy that it might have made a good, drapey dress.

Since it is so light, the cowl lies flat to my body. If you want your cowl to stand up like on the pattern envelope, you should use a heavier knit.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None. Looking at the fit, I might narrow the shoulders ever so slightly. I’d also raise the neckline a bit, if I could figure out how to adjust the cowl pieces . . . as it is, the top looks a bit more formal/night-on-the-town than I had intended.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, absolutely. I can see myself making multiples of this top, and doing variations on the views (For example, a sleeveless version of View A).

I also think that this could be lengthened into a very nice, simple knit dress.

Conclusion:
Finally, a pattern that worked for me right away. Until I made this, I was getting very frustrated with fit issues. This and KwikSew 3115 are my best-yet projects.

Leave a Reply

