Ok, You Can Mess Up PJs :-(

Went shopping for fabric for hubby’s PJs today, picked out what felt like the perfect weight checked cotton, didn’t pay enough attention when the clerk measured and folded it.

After I paid and left, I realized I had been looking at the back of the fabric–which is actually a complex plaid–and the “perfect thickness” was because the fabric was doubled.

Now, I have almost three yards of wafer-thin complex plaid woven cotton with a checkered wrong side. Not what I intended to get at all. There is really nothing I can do with it at all–I’ve pondered over it, and it won’t stand up to the beating that a pair of pjs would take, even if I did manage to make plaid pjs without losing my mind.

Disappointed with myself, and shocked that I did not notice that the fabric was not what it seemed. That’s what I get for picking something that was on a bolt in the very back of a huge mound of fabrics.

There’s $12.50 wasted. And it’s too bad, because it is nice fabric. Just . . . not at all useful to me.

Now I’m going to have to find something else. Perhaps I should go mope over a couple of my knitting projects that aren’t going very well, either.

5 thoughts on “Ok, You Can Mess Up PJs :-(

  1. leuinda says:

    Oh, jeeze. I’m sorry. It’s no fun to have a quote-un-quote easy project go awry. Very frustrating. Where were you shopping?
    I wanted to say “hey” after seeing you post in Regional Communities over at PR. I’m in the city, and blogging my frustrations on WordPress, too.
    Enjoy the cool weather!
    Leu
    http://www.leusewsinnyc.wordpress.com

    • demoiselle says:

      Chic Fabrics in the Garment District. I think it will work out . . . at least if the fabric shrinks up a bit. If the threads tighten up a bit into a firmer weave, then it just . . . might . . . work.

  2. LadyD says:

    Have you got photo of the fabric…maybe we can suggest alternate uses? (I’ve made many fabric mistakes…mostly buying online. lol!)

Leave a Reply

