Personal Style Time Travel

armful-kittens

An Armful of Kittens: Fashion Accessory of 1988.

Since I am trying to rediscover my “personal style” and I also happen to be at mom’s home, I’m thinking of doing a little digging through the photo albums. Little demoiselle had a definite idea of what she liked to wear, and so I wonder if a trip through her past might give me some ideas of what I’d like to do now–always taking into consideration the fact that I now have a thirty-three year old body rather than a twelve or fifteen year old one.

Anyone ever do this when you felt you’d lost your way? What did you find out? *

* I already know that I’ll find out that perm I had at eleven did not suit me.

armful-kittens2

More kitten-accessorizing (1988).

Seriously, a grey kitten goes with EVERYTHING. Even boys (1988).

Seriously, a grey kitten goes with EVERYTHING. Even boys (1988).

In dire straights, such as a beach vacation, try an off-the-shoulder number with a cartoon cat instead (1988).

In dire straits, such as a beach vacation, try an off-the-shoulder number with a cartoon cat instead (1988).

At ages seven to eight, I also liked to pose with fish, lambs, and horses. But really, cats and kittens were the clear winner and the defining feature of my style circa the late eighties.

Leave a Reply

