Demoiselle, Stripped to Her Simplest Lines

Croqui of myself, made by tracing a photograph in PhotoShop.

Croqui of myself, made by tracing a photograph in PhotoShop.

If I am going to do a sewing and knitting blog, then I might as well go full out. My first post is a croqui I made of myself (apparently a year or three behind the trend). In order to make it, I followed the tutorial outlined by lladybird. Since I have PhotoShop, I used that instead of GIMP-shop. I leaned heavily on the “define path” and “stroke” functions to get my outline. I found that I got a good weight bodyline by using a 6 pixel brush, a good collorbone with a 4 px brush, and dimples for the elbows and knees with a 3 px brush.

By far the hardest part was getting my hair and jawline right.

For the photograph, I used a white wall, a self-timing digital camera, and a stack of encyclopedias that raised the camera to waist-level. I also wore the shoes that I am most likely to wear with most clothing (seeing as shoes can change your posture slightly).

It’s an interesting experience, looking at oneself in stark lines. I’ve got mild scoliosis, which (when I am not swimming or using a rowing machine regularly) expresses itself in an uneven waist and a high hip. It’s quite visible in the croqui, but not nearly as hideous as I imagine it when I look in the mirror.

It’s also interesting to see my body as it is now. Until I hit 28, I weighed under 100 lbs. Now I weigh about 124 on a 5′ 3/4″ frame. The weight-gain happened fast (working out, bigger appetite, husband who cooks, and generally feeling happier) and, ever since, I have struggled with a disconnect when I look in the mirror.

Now I know it isn’t so bad. I don’t look like the Hunchback of Notre Dame. I do have a waist. And even though I didn’t gain much if any weight in the bust, I’m not terribly out of proportion. Yes, this body means that certain clothes will suit me better than others.

But it will also mean that certain clothes will suit me better than they’d suit other folks, right?

Leave a Reply

